PRINCE2® 5th edition vs 6th edition Courses

Differences between PRINCE2 5th edition and PRINCE2 6th edition explained by iLEARN

Evolutions in business practice over the past decade have prompted this thorough, but not radical update of PRINCE2. It reflects a wealth of expert feedback from PRINCE2 practitioners - the people who successfully apply the method in today’s dynamic working environment - where new technologies constantly change the game, where customers and stakeholders continually raise their expectations, and where there is ever-growing pressure to achieve more with less financial outlay.

AXELOS has therefore taken the decision to refresh PRINCE2 to further enable anyone managing a project to get the best out of PRINCE2 and to achieve success for their organization.

How is PRINCE2 6th edition different?
PRINCE2 has always had a strong emphasis on flexibility, letting you tailor it for individual projects. The 6th edition eases this process with its focus on:

  • How the user can adapt PRINCE2 projects to the needs of the organisation and project environment
  • The fundamental PRINCE2 principles - the core things to keep when tailoring a project
  • Rewriting the 'Themes' guidance to make it more accommodating towards tailoring
  • Outlining the link between these themes and principles
  • Providing hints and tips on how to tailor projects with this new update

What languages is the update available in?
PRINCE2 6th edition content is currently available in the following languages: English, French, Danish, Dutch, German, Norwegian and Polish.
The new version will be translated also in Italian, Chinese, Czech and Spanish, but issue dates for these translations have not been communicated yet.

Have the difficulty of the exams changed?
The updated Foundation and Practitioner exams are slightly more difficult. However, they also have fewer questions and marks than the 5th version.

Esame ENG

How this affects the older exams?

From January 2018, the 5th edition exam will be gradually phased out and substituted by PRINCE2 6th edition exam.

Did anything change about the way new practitioners remain current?
The new PRINCE2 6th edition Practitioner certificate will be valid for 3 years, whereas it is five for 5th edition. To remain qualified, Practitioners will need to re-sit the full Practitioner exam.
However, there is also a new alternative option, becoming AXELOS Member.

PRINCE2 certification renaming
From 1 January 2020, PRINCE2 2017 will be referred to as PRINCE2 6th edition and PRINCE2 2009 will be referred to as PRINCE2 5th edition. The reason behind this renaming is to ensure that the PRINCE2 language is aligned with that used by other frameworks in the industry. Alongside this, the new naming reflects the legacy, heritage and authority of PRINCE2 best practice.

Frequently Asked Questions

No, all prices on the website are excluding VAT. However, remember that VAT is always not applicable in the following cases:

  • billing to a non EU company or citizen
  • billing to a non Italian EU company with a valid VIES VAT id

You can check the VAT id on VIES portal at this link:

The website implements this rules automatically. However, you or your organization could be exempted by VAT application for other legal reason. In such a case contact us ( so that we can analyze and confirm your case. If so, please don't submit subscriptions using the website: your request will be handled through manual order handling processing.

Open the FAQ >

With the purchase of e-learning packages with 14, 30, 120 and 180 days of duration, exam doesn’t have to be necessarily taken within the closing date of the account on the e-learning platform. The validity of the exam voucher code is 12 months starting from the issue date.

Open the FAQ >

30, 120 or 180 are to be considered as the period, so the days, during which it is possible to access the purchased training courses on our e-learning platform. These periods start on the activation date selected during the purchase process on our webiste. The activation date can be chosen and selected within 30 days from the purchase date. If you need more flexibility, do not hesitate to contact us.  

Open the FAQ >

The activation date of the package can be selected during the purchase process on our website. The days of access to the course, indicated in the title of the product, will be calculated starting from the selected date. Payment must be completed before the activation date.

Open the FAQ >

During the purchase process it is possible to register data and details of each participant. 

Open the FAQ >


Exam voucher code is usually issued at the activation of the e-learning course, anyway it can also be issued at the end of the e-learning course of sent after 24/48 hours from the order date.
In case of purchase for exam only, exam voucher code is issued at purchase confirmation, always after the receipt of payment.

Open the FAQ >

It is possible to pay by credit card (VISA, Mastercard circuits), PayPal or bank transfer.

Open the FAQ >

2020-2023 © iCONS - Innovative Consulting S.r.l.

Attention, by choice, iCONS uses ONLY technical session cookies necessary to offer navigation and site services. Therefore, in order to protect the privacy of those who browse this site, iCONS does NOT carry out any tracking with persistent cookies, renouncing profiling visitors. More information on our privacy policy is available at iCONS Privacy Policy (, while information on the use of cookies is available at Cookies Policy (

iLEARN is a business unit of iCONS - Innovative Consulting Srl - VAT number 03334560962
iCONS - Innovative Consulting srl is certified ISO 9001 for training and consulting services.