• Banner News ITIL4   ENG

ITIL® v3 vs ITIL® 4

IT is at the core of every business in today's world. This update will allow ITIL to reflect the fast-paced and complex environment we live in, and new ways of working and emerging practices, all of which are essential not only for ITSM professionals, but also for a wider range of professionals working in the digital transformation world.

The purpose of ITIL 4 is to provide organizations with comprehensive guidance for the management of information technology in the modern service economy.

ITIL 4 will evolve to provide an end-to-end IT/Digital Operating Model, covering the full delivery (and sustaining) of tech-enabled products and services, guiding how IT interfaces with, and even leads, the wider business strategy.

When will the ITIL 4 update happen?

The ITIL 4 modules will be released according to the below top-level timelines.

  • ITIL Foundation – Q1 2019
  • ITIL Specialist modules (3) – H2 2019
  • ITIL Strategist – H2 2019
  • ITIL Leader – H2 2019
  • ITIL Master – details to be released at a later date.

How is ITIL 4 different from ITIL 3?

AXELOS has now released a new certification scheme.

The ITIL Certification Scheme comprises of the following levels:

  • ITIL Foundation
  • ITIL Specialist modules (3 modules)
  • ITIL Strategist
  • ITIL Leader
  • ITIL Master

One of the main characteristics of the new ITIL 4 certification scheme it is that is now formed by two different designation streams; ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) and ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL). These two streams are intended to provide end- learners with greater clarity about how and where they can improve their skills and set them apart from peers.

The two streams are made up of five modules.

To become an ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) end-learners must complete the following modules:

  • ITIL 4 Foundation
  • ITIL Specialist: Create, Deliver & Support
  • ITIL Specialist: Drive Stakeholder Value
  • ITIL Specialist: High Velocity IT
  • ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan & Improve*

To become an ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) end-learners must complete the following modules:

  • ITIL 4 Foundation
  • ITIL Strategist: Direct, Plan & Improve*
  • ITIL Leader: Digital & IT Strategy

*Universal module for both ITIL designation streams.

In order to be eligible to become an ITIL Master, end-learners must have both the ITIL Managing Professional (ITIL MP) and ITIL Strategic Leader (ITIL SL) designations.

Further details about how to become an ITIL Master will be released later.

Will there be an ITIL 4 Foundation transition module?

Due to the structure of ITIL 4 Foundation, there will not be a transition module at the Foundation level. There is a large amount of new material in the ITIL 4 Foundation therefore a single exam is required to assess end- learners knowledge of the new ITIL 4 Foundation guidance.

Instead there will be available a transition module for the ITIL Experts or for who already obtained 17 credits from the ITIL v3 certification scheme: ITIL Managing Professional Transition Module.

For further information on how to transition from ITIL v3 to 4, click here.


Download PDF

Differences between ITIL v3 and ITIL4 explained by iLEARN